Monday, 16 November 2009

EW Annual Dinner 2009

The Proud Winners

On the 10th of November Erskine Writers met for the annual dinner and prize giving event at the Erskine Bridge Hotel. Homecoming was the theme for the afternoon and because the recent article competition was tagged with the same theme we were treated to readings of the winning entries and a few from other contestants.

After the prize giving the photo call the group adjourned to the dinning room to continue festivities with an excellent dinner and a few sherries.

Thanks should go to the capable hands of the efficient and pleasant staff who did a grand job.

The prizes awarded are as follows;

The Quaich was presented to Sarah Smith for winning the Crime Story Competition
2nd Place to Myra Duffy and 3rd Place to Moira McPartlin

Sandra McGruther was presented with an award for winning the Poetry Competition, 2nd Place to Sarah Smith, 3rd Place to Cheryl O'Brien and Highly Commended to Wilma Ferguson and Rosemary Gemmell

The Erskine Bridge Hotel Cup was presented to Senga (on behalf of Joan Fleming) for winning the Article Competition
2nd Place to Rosemary Gemmell and 3rd Place to Wilma Ferguson

The President’s Achievement Award for 2009 was presented to Hector Campbell for his devotion to the group, particularly the good work carried out as Treasurer. The big smiles on the photos are due to Hector's ready wit.

Hector receiving the President's Achievement Award

Congratulations to all the award winners.

You can view the photos on the side bar soon.

No comments: