Sunday, 16 November 2008

EW Annual Dinner 2008

The Proud Winners

On the 11th of November twenty plus Erskine Writers met for the annual dinner and prize giving event at the Erskine Bridge Hotel. Poetry was the theme for the afternoon and we all enjoyed the ups and downs of a varied selection of fine verse.

After the prize giving the literati adjourned to the dinning room to continue festivities with an excellent dinner and a few sherries.

Thanks should go to the capable hands of the efficient and pleasant staff who did a grand job.

The prizes awarded are as follows;

The Quaich was presented to Rosemary Gemmell for winning the Fantasy Story Competition (December 2007)
2nd Place to Moira McPartlin and 3rd Place to Cathie Devitt

Myra Duffy was presented with an award for winning the Poetry Competition (February 2008)
2nd Place to Cathie Devitt, 3rd Place to Alex Gray and Highly Commended to Sarah Smith

The Erskine Bridge Hotel Cup was presented to Joan Fleming for winning the Travel Writing Competition (November 2008)
2nd Place to Moira McPartlin and 3rd Place to Wilma Ferguson

The President’s Achievement Award for 2008 was presented to Albert Hammond for his unstinting enthusiasm and sustained devotion to the club. He is an inspiration to us all.

Congratulations to all the award winners.

You can view the photos on the side bar.

No comments: